Nuhey News

We talk about the MARKET

The 41st prime minister of New Zealand, Chris Hipkins, was sworn in

On November 13th, 2020, Chris Hipkins was sworn in as the 41st Prime Minister of New Zealand. In a ceremony held at Government House in Wellington, Hipkins was sworn in by Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy. Hipkins is the leader of the Labour Party and will lead a Labour-led coalition government. He succeeds former Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, who resigned earlier in the day.

In his oath of office, Hipkins pledged to serve New Zealanders “with humility, integrity, and to the best of [his] ability.” Hipkins is the second youngest prime minister in New Zealand’s history, and the first to come from the Labour Party since Helen Clark in 2008.